Newbie Cook!

I’ve been practicing my cooking for some time now. Since both my hubby and I work at night and spend more than 9 hours in the office, I become too tired to cook. Unfortunately, we end up ordering from the cafe in our village or worse order fast-food. I worry about the nutrients or lack of it from the food we eat and vowed to try my best to cook food. Hubby is so far happy and pleased with my cooking that one time I got too busy at work to cook, he said that he missed my cooking already. πŸ™‚

I get cooking ideas from Pinterest. I pin recipes I want to try next time. I have tried recipes that I never thought I could do before. From Filipino to Korean dishes! I looked up dishes that can be cooked in a short time, since it’s ideal for someone like me who has little to no time at all.

Ever since hubby said he missed my dishes, I planned on cooking again even on weekdays after work. We went to the grocery last weekend and I bought ingredients for recipes I’ve decided to do this week. I have lined up in my list samgyeopsal, pork steak, sinigang, adobo, friend porkchops and a lot of vegetable side dishes.

Today I am sharing 2 dishes I’ve cooked for the last 2 days. Credits go to the Pinoy Recipes app and Pinterest that helped me cook these wonderful meals! You can make adjustments to the recipe and amount of ingredients you will use to your own liking. πŸ™‚

Samgyeopsal
From: http://unitedkpop.com/2014/06/friday-foods-samgyeopsal/

image

Ingredients:

– 4lbs of pork belly, sliced
– sesame oil
– 6 tbsp soybean paste
– 4 tbsp hot chili paste
– 1 garlic clove, minced
– 1 spring onion, sliced
– a dozen perilla leaves (or lettuce)

Step 1: In a bowl, mix the soybean paste, hot chili paste, garlic, spring onions and 3 tbsp of sesame oil.

Step 2: Add sesame oil to a pan or grill and cook the pork slices, flipping it over to make sure both sides are cooked.

Step 3: Once the pork slices are cooked, place a slice onto a perilla leaf and drizzle the sauce (from step 1) onto the pork.

Step 4: Roll the leaf, and you’re ready to eat! If you don’t like the perilla leaf, then go ahead and use lettuce.

Pork Steak
From: Pinoy Recipe app

image

Ingredients:

4 to 5 pieces pork chops
5 tablespoons soy sauce
2 pieces lime or 1 piece lemon
1/2 cup cooking oil
2 medium onions, sliced
1 1/2 cups water
1 tablespoon granulated white sugar
Salt and pepper to taste

Cooking procedure:

1. Combine pork chops, soy sauce, and lime juice in a large bowl or container. Marinade for at least 1 hour.
2. Heat a pan then pour-in cooking oil.
3. Pan-fry the marinated pork chops in medium heat for 3 to 5 minutes per side.
4. Remove excess oil. Pour-in the remaining marinade and water and let boil. Simmer for 45 minutes or until the pork is tender. Note: Add water as needed.
5. Add-in the sugar, salt, and pepper then stir.
6. Put-in the onions and cook for 3 minutes more.
7. Turn-off heat and transfer to a serving plate.

One thought on “Newbie Cook!

Leave a comment